Fishing tips and experiences

xxxknightguardxxx

Hey everyone. 

I'm hoping to get a good thread going about fishing. Please leave any tips and tricks you have learned here along with tales (and videos) of your massive catches and the loot its possible to get from them. If you want to help with this list please put in the lvl/type of fish, bait used,   it's multiplier, and your rod quality / efficiency. I'll continually add any tips and what BPs it's possible to catch from different lvl fish to this original post so it is easy to find. 

I also want to know if anyone has had any issues recently with fishing. A couple of months ago I caught a 2.5 coal with a JM pole that had 250% efficiency, I got an insane amount of ascendant blueprints,  I'll post the video later. Then a month later I got a mastercraft pole with 350% efficiency. However it did not make it easier to catch fish! I was still having trouble with 2.6 coal. Now I have an ascendant rod with 500% (which I believe is max) and I still have trouble catching fish! Mind you I'm actually pretty good,  and fast,  but I just spent 1 and a half hours trying to catch a 2.8 coal. Even with that 500% ascendant rod I could not hit the buttons fast enough! I was told that the higher the effectiveness of the rod the less buttons you have to press in the time amount ( for example a 2.5 coal with a 250%efficiency rod would take 20 button presses in the 20second time,  whereas a 500% rod would only take 10 button presses in the 20 seconds.) is this not correct? With a max level rod I should be able to get any fish possible,  so why do I have trouble with 2.8s when there are 6.0 and other whales out there? I'm interested to see the amount of prompts different fish have with different poles. Hopefully with enough videos of people catching good fish well have a better idea of what's actually possible to catch with our quality or rod.