So... the Tent repair bug...

Ganelon

It's been around since the beginning. It seems like a minor issue, as the tent is an early game benefit.

However... it has the effect of stopping a very intriguing mode of play on this map. The Nomad.

I really want to go 'baseless'... that isn't to say I want no home port... but I don't want to do the big build pen fortress.

One of the things I really love about the desert biome gameplay... it the idea of being a Bedouin-esque nomad. However, the tent is a consumable without a repair option. Thus... my options are to create a tent every few game days.... of wait till I can platform a Para(which is the later game goal. Clearly, there is repair code for the tent, but the repair function isn't meeting the condition for the end of the iteration. It's a simple fix. Probably less than 1 minute of debug and code tweak.(yes... I am a dev).

Yes... there are lots of bugs. By all means... prioritize them. But... little things like this, that are most definitely newb dev fixes... knocking some of those out will go a long way.

#1 The tent takes minimal amount resources to build which you will likely gather without thinking about it. I repair my own jeans - doesn't look as good as a new pair. People repair "tents" - doesn't look as good as a new tent......or tarp....

#2 I like idea of an aborigine or nomad, using a platform saddle Paracer in SE, but be very wary of desert - Deathworms. Plus of course wild wyverns, but that's what turrets are for.

3 minutes ago, FraggleRock said:

#1 The tent takes minimal amount resources to build which you will likely gather without thinking about it. I repair my own jeans - doesn't look as good as a new pair. People repair "tents" - doesn't look as good as a new tent......or tarp....

#2 I like idea of an aborigine or nomad, using a platform saddle Paracer in SE, but be very wary of desert - Deathworms. Plus of course wild wyverns, but that's what turrets are for.