question about tranq arrows

GameFreak

does the torpor stack with each arrow like the dart does? i remember back when i started playing that something didnt stack torpor but i dont recall what, but i figure it was the arrows, but the wiki says that the torpor stacks with each arrow.  i tried to tame two direbears the other day, a lv 94 and lv 60, and they both died before they got knocked out by the arrows at about 1/3 to 1/2 of the amount the wiki says should knock them out. so either i have the worst luck with the hp on the direbears or the wiki is wrong.

1 minute ago, GameFreak said:

then what is the point in being able to make a direbear saddle long before you can make darts

If you head shot a dire bear at the perfect 5 (or maybe 10) second intervals with tranq arrows you might be able to knock it out, not sure.

Though remember this game is currently pre-release (effectively alpha) so the stats haven't been optimized yet. Come full release, the Dire Bears might be very different, especially noting how strong they currently are.

1 minute ago, GameFreak said:

well i just knocked out 2 direbears, a 68 that drowned and a 32 i tamed, and they had about 1/4 to 1/3 of their health left when they dropped so im guessing you torpor doesnt stack on arrows and that is one of the reasons i killed the ones i found before.

So you did it at 10 second intervals head shots? I guess the torpor doesn't stack, maybe just resets the timer.

Torpor does stack, it just does less on hit and more spread through 5 seconds. So say an arrow does 100 damage (all made up numbers for easy math) and 50 torpor on hit. Then it does 100 torpor over 5 seconds. If you hit a bear every second for 5 you would do 500 damage and 350 torpor (50 torpor 5 times plus 100 from the first arrow).

however if you spread your shots to every 5 seconds and still did 5 shots you would do 500 damage and 750 torpor, it would just take longer.