My First Experience of Official (PvE)

Myrm

My First Experience of Official (PvE)

Hi

I have been playing Ark on PC, PS4 and Xbox for several years now, though I exclusively only play on Xbox for the moment.  I have always played on solo, and for the past 6 months on my own private server.  I have never played on an official server.  So yesterday I decided to go take a look at what playing on an official PvE server is like.  I am too chicken to play on PvP ?  I will probably create a character to check out a PvP server, out of curiosity more than anything else; after all, it's only a a game - It's not like I will die in real life, right? Right? ?

Anyway, the very first thing that struck me as I awoke and explored the immediate area ("Footpaw") on my first official PvE server is the amount of pillaring that goes on.  I can understand some pillaring taking place around spawn points, to protect these areas.  But the pillaring I witnessed goes far beyond the spawn areas.  For example, on the PvE server I entered, the metal pillaring extends all over the south spawn areas, including that island near the red obelisk.  I haven't  checked out the rest of the island yet.

I always thought that pillaring was forbidden on official servers.  Most of the pillars seem to be placed by one particular player/tribe.  It's not as if though the person who placed the pillars has a base next to them.  

My question is; why do people pillar like this?  Is it to protect spawn areas or is it some player taking it upon themselves to dictate where other players can and can not build?  Does reporting pillaring work?  Do the devs/moderators take any notice of pillaring reports?  Just curious.

Many thanks. 

I played a while on The Island too, but I can only advising against this map. Not only that it's packed most of all maps, they running on old hardware, you don't get chainsaws from drops, black pearls are nearly impossible to get, no special dinos and so on.