Jump to content

FenrirPhoenix

Technical help request - Using PS4 as a dedicated server

Recommended Posts

Technical help request - Using PS4 as a dedicated server

Hello,

 

So I’ve got 2 PS4’s, one original model PS4 and a PS4 Pro. I’m using the original as a dedicated server and the Pro as the client and everything has been working fine for a while. I’m going for full progression so I started on the Island map and have been playing that for a month or so. Recently I decided to move over into Scorched Earth so as a test I took my character, 1 single creature and some very basic gear to the obelisk and uploaded items/creature/character. I turned off the Pro (client) went to the original (server) and exited game. I went back into Host on the server, changed the map to SE unchecked all the boxes for no character/item/creature downloads allowed (those boxes were checked before when I was on the Island) and started the server on the SE map. When I fired up the Pro client system I connected to the server and tried the option to Download Survivor but the list was empty and the only option I had was to create new character.

 

I switched the server back to Island and tried to connect and still couldn’t Download Survivor, I still only have the option to create new character. So is my character now lost to the ether?

 

Both the client and server are online so they’re up to date and current so it shouldn’t be a outdated software issue. I don't want to continue running the system and get farther away from the point where I can retrieve my character if that’s even possible, so anyone have any ideas? If more info is needed I’ll get it ASAP.

 

Thanks! 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Unfortunately unless you could somehow roll back your game state on the server your character is likely lost. If you’re trying to run full ascension using a method like that you’ll want to keep upload and download allowed at all times. It’s also possible that for whatever reason when changing the map on a PS4 dedicated server uploaded character data isn’t saved or is lost for whatever reason.

I’d say if you have a second PSN run a new test on said account. Make a new character, take them to an ob and do the same process but with download enabled the whole time. Maybe try a different map too. Like say from Island to Ragnarok or Aberration.

This sounds a lot like a bug that isn’t exclusive to you or others who try using a PS4 as a dedicated server either. I have seen it on people who rent servers as well.

Edited by NumberVIIIAxel

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Well here’s the latest I have.

Character is lost forever and there still appears to be no way currently to use a PS4 as a dedicated server AND be able to switch maps and keep your character/creatures/etc. Running with downloads locked out makes your character go to the PS4 client memory but you can’t get it back out. Running with downloads allowed does not give you a way to upload existing character using the Obelisk, you can open the menu and get the option to transfer to another ark in the cluster but the list is completely empty no matter what options are checked.

I saw on a PC version there’s an option in the obelisk above and to the right to upload character and it goes into the cloud for 24 hours, why this option isn’t available for PS4 users I don’t know.

So if you’re a PS4 user your only options are to play solo, play with the horrible troll-filled official servers, start over every map you go to, spend more money on dedicated servers, or try to find a group on existing server.

if anyone has other options to use the PS4 as server, please let me know.

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Nothing will be done about this. We've been complaining about this for over two years now. First of all the owner of our dedicated PS4 Weaselboy, started posting and submitting tickets. Then, after he passed away my brother Banshee5000 took over with no difference. 

1. They have both submitted multiple threads and posts on here regarding this issue and have been totally ignored. 

2. Between the two of them they have submitted around 2 dozen support tickets with less than 20% of them being answered by a GM. No GM has helped in any way and every ticket has been closed and marked solved. Most of them go straight to solved without a single word from Wildcard. 

3. They have also submitted multiple tickets asking if PS4s will cluster so it would be possible to run two servers. Every bit of info online seems to say no. ONE single thread says they do if they're on the same network. ALL of these tickets submitted to Wildcard have been closed and marked solved without a single word let alone an answer from Wildcard. If they don't cluster then removing upload functionality from the PS4 dedicated server after people have paid for that feature is illegal. 

4. None of us can afford the cost involved in travel or buying a new PS4 to see if they cluster. We're all pretty much in the process of refunding everything related to the game. Sony doesn't normally refund anything after it's downloaded but they're making an exception for us as we can clearly show we've been trying to get it fixed the whole time. 

5. Neither of them (even though Weaselboy is dead now) is allowed back on the forum after posting and complaining so much about this issue. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 10/20/2019 at 9:52 AM, FenrirPhoenix said:

Well here’s the latest I have.

Character is lost forever and there still appears to be no way currently to use a PS4 as a dedicated server AND be able to switch maps and keep your character/creatures/etc. Running with downloads locked out makes your character go to the PS4 client memory but you can’t get it back out. Running with downloads allowed does not give you a way to upload existing character using the Obelisk, you can open the menu and get the option to transfer to another ark in the cluster but the list is completely empty no matter what options are checked.

I saw on a PC version there’s an option in the obelisk above and to the right to upload character and it goes into the cloud for 24 hours, why this option isn’t available for PS4 users I don’t know.

So if you’re a PS4 user your only options are to play solo, play with the horrible troll-filled official servers, start over every map you go to, spend more money on dedicated servers, or try to find a group on existing server.

if anyone has other options to use the PS4 as server, please let me know.

 

 

And of course there's still nothing being done about this! 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...