dedicated servers - can i host and play?

ok, so im new to dedicated servers. normally just go single or non-dedicated with my brother. but my friends want to know if I could set up a world for all of us and I was wondering if I could actually run and play on a dedicated server at the same time on a single xbox. if so, then how? it always comes up with a sort of server management screen and nothing else for me and I cant afford a second system. any advice at all would help.

1 hour ago, deadpoolLugia said:

ok, so im new to dedicated servers. normally just go single or non-dedicated with my brother. but my friends want to know if I could set up a world for all of us and I was wondering if I could actually run and play on a dedicated server at the same time on a single xbox. if so, then how? it always comes up with a sort of server management screen and nothing else for me and I cant afford a second system. any advice at all would help.

You can’t play on both the dedicated server and the session on the same Xbox, you would need another Xbox to play the server on so it’s better to host a dedicated server on a cheap secondhand Xbox, if you were to go down that route. Alternatively, you can host a dedicated server on a Windows 10 PC/Laptop through play anywhere (cross-play).

Don't play this game...........I had a dedicated server running on an xbox.....after the latest patch......all server data gone.....just gone.

How can WildCard not test stuff before it's released? I am so angry. Months of play time gone.....because they can't get their poop together.

WildCard.......just stop making games. You should just stop.

they are actually good with this stuff. glitches can be unexpected, but are fixable. as has this one been. I lost my data too on my single player worlds, but most was restored after a few updates. im on xbox and most has been great so far, except valgureo. good map, just don't ever let it crash if you want to save.