Personal Dedicated server tips - Windows

LockeCPM4

So I have been running Ark servers since March of 2016, but in May of this year I moved from a rented server host to a machine in my home (now that I have the internet to support it).

I have learned a lot in all that time, so I figured I would share my tips for hosting a non-rented dedicated server running on Windows. THIS IS NOT A HOW TO GUIDE, just tips:

Server System Requirements:

• 6GB of RAM per server instance you wish to run
    • This changes based on how many players are connected, and sometimes varies for no reason at all
  • Good Single thread performing CPU
    • A core i5 or i7 going back to the 2000 series will do fine
    • Avoid older AMD FX processors (poor single thread performance)(if going AMD make it Ryzen or better)
  • Approximately 14GB of Hard Drive Space per server
    • SSD is HIGHLY recommended
      • When running on a regular HDD, it takes about 15-20 minutes for the server to start
      • When running on a SSD server start time only takes 3-5 minutes
  • Windows 7 or Later, or Windows Server 2008 or later (since this is a windows tips and tricks post
  • 1Gbps Ethernet port, and router with 1Gbps LAN ports
    • DO NOT RUN YOUR SERVER ON WIFI. Players will lag

Network and Internet:

• Upload speed for your internet is the most important
    • A minimum of 10Mbps upload speed is required (trust me, mine started out a 5Mbps and it was not good)
    • 50Mbps and up will provide an optimal lag free environment for your players
  • Download Speed is still important as well
    • From much trial and error, I recommend a download speed of 100Mbps or higher
    • If you are sharing your network with others in your home, their usage (i.e. doing large file downloads and streaming video) can and will impact your player's connection quality a lot. Having a higher download speed can almost completely eliminate that
  • You Should have a good router