martians1

Cant Join Private Non Dedicated Server

Cant Join Private Non Dedicated Server

My brother and I just started playing Ark a couple weeks ago, and I've been hosting a private non dedicated server just for the 2 of us.

After we did the update yesterday, my brother cant join my game anymore (it says unable to join private server after I invite him)

does anyone know a fix for this so we can continue playing on a private game? (we dont want to play on a public server until we learn the game a little more) :)

thanks 

Unfortunately it doesn't look like the fix for this made it into todays update.  At least as per Jat and Jen on twitter.  They are now very aware of it as they tried it out after I asked them about it today so hopefully the next update whenever that is might have a fix.

Sorry for the bad news.  I wonder if you might be able to show as not visible to anyone but friends or having the non-dedicated server owner go "invisible" and then invite the other player to work around this until then.

22 minutes ago, jcmeyer5 said:

Didn't know about it?  We've been talking about it since last Friday.  Don't they read?

Not sure why they didn't see it.  I pinged a couple on it via twitter as well.  Sorry to be the bearer of bad news, I just wanted to make sure that you guys knew.

And my workaround likely won't work as it'd just make it show up in the server list anyway I'm guessing. :(

Okay, so I did a test and private, non-dedicated I still get the "you can't join a private server" message.  If I DONT mark it private, then it will connect and work (change from last patch where it would connect but not leave the splash screen).  From what I can gather, there is no way to prevent others from joining other than the check box for private?  Admin password won't even get it done?  Can we reduce the slots from 4 to 2?

This still appears to be broken, for almost a year now.