Anyone else starting to feel like the game has too many creatures?

wildbill

I've been playing Scorched Earth for a few months (since a week after it was released), then I log into an Island server with like 5 or 10 new types of creatures, and I feel a bit overwhelmed.

I've been playing over a year and been learning each new creature one or two at a time, but now I've fallen behind and am getting a bit confused. How can a brand new player sort out all of the creatures and which are dangerous and which are not?

Many seem to overlap in function and seem to be there just to have more types of creatures.

Is this getting too complicated? This used to be a much simpler game. Playing Scorched Earth, I think I like simpler over the complexity of the Island.

It takes a few days of seeing all the similar types to be able to tell them apart. It makes the game much more dangerous (maybe that is the idea). The kibble tree is very complex.

i got to question why we need this many creatures. Is this just to give it more of a realistic feel? Maybe to keep a few developers busy that crank out all these creatures?

All the different engrams are cool, no complaints there, even more of those (there will be more soon) is good.

22 minutes ago, seXikanac said:

I'm huge critic of Ark but there is only one simple answer to your question. No!

Agreed. There aren't too many creatures, but in PvP there are only a few creatures with actual utility. 

In no particular order:

• Pteranodon
  • Argy (for mid-game taming, and that's about it)
  • Rex
  • Giga
  • Quetzal
  • Bronto
  • Turtle
  • Wyvern
  • Anky
  • Doedi (though you could technically do without this)
  • Beaver
  • Bear
  • Frog (swamp cave)
  • Rock Golem (arguably on the second list)

There are some other tames that can be useful, but are more for style:

• Paracer (mobile riot shield)
  • Rhino (enrage strategy)
  • Mosa (naval raids)
  • Saber
  • Spino