Getting better fishing rods

Ekoby

• Replies 53
  • Created
  • Last Reply
13 minutes ago, fewcm said:

Best I've found on the Island is a apprentice BP from a red supply drop.

My girlfriend makes trip to the island sometimes, but our main base is on scorched earth. She has brought back some pretty nice beacon drops from there, having opened lots of red/yellow beacons on scorched earth, the island seems  a bit better (maybe she just got lucky). Is your experience that Island beacons are better?

41 minutes ago, Ekoby said:

Hello,

Has anyone had any luck since the fishing rods were removed from the fishing loot table in acquiring any?

Which map is the best (if there is one) and what source has been the most successful for people (yellow/red beacons or deep sea loot crates etc)?

I got a mastercraft blueprint from the swamp cave in the red woods and an actual Mc rod. You get ascendant plus Mc gear from that rod. Effectiveness on the blueprint was 365 and the rod drop was 412. If you do the swamp cave you need a full set of scuba and a high level frog with a good saddle and then you can solo it

2 minutes ago, legendaryc4 said:

I got a mastercraft blueprint from the swamp cave in the red woods and an actual Mc rod. You get ascendant plus Mc gear from that rod. Effectiveness on the blueprint was 365 and the rod drop was 412. If you do the swamp cave you need a full set of scuba and a high level frog with a good saddle and then you can solo it

So jealous of you....

I'm primarily a TheIsland player so I can't speak to those maps. I'll let others chime in there.

Another estimate, I think I have found 3 fishing rod BPs so far. 2 Primitive and 1 Ramshackle, I believe all of them came from yellow drops for me. I guesstimate that I've opened probably 75-100ish yellow drops on this particular playthrough so that would be roughly  3-4% drop rate on them.

1 minute ago, Brayn said: